Sample Projects

Optical measurement in quality control

For quality assurance purposes, components are tested before they are used. The measured values obtained must be interpreted and compared with predetermined target values.

Sample project >

Optimising movements

Industrial robots are equipped with complex software which is suitable for a variety of applications. Nevertheless, there are inevitably some intricate processes that depend on calculations made in house to steer the robot according to precise specifications.

Sample project >

Calculating the dimensions of a ratchet wheel

In many cases, components are required to conform to an optimum shape, e.g. to keep acceleration to a minimum or to simplify movements.

Sample project >

Extension of central pharmaceutical number for medicines

To ensure unambiguous identification of medicines in Germany, each product is assigned a unique PZN (Pharmazentralnummer = central pharmaceutical number) by IFA GmbH. Prior to 2013, the PZN was seven digits in length, of which the seventh served as a check digit. Its presence meant that false entries were avoided. With the seven-digit PZN, only 909,090 numbers were possible. As the seven-digit numbers were almost used up, the PZN had to be extended by more digits.

Sample project >

Flow patterns of gases and liquids

Formulations or problems in fluid mechanics can be resolved numerically or analytically. Standard CFD software makes a numerical calculation. However, if a specific optimum flow is to be achieved or if full control over the calculation process is required, analytical calculations have to be made that are precisely tailored to the problem.

Sample project >

Elastic deformations, stresses and forces

Strength theory is a classic area of mechanical engineering. It examines how components are affected by loading, the stresses and deformations that occur and the extent to which those components are able to withstand them.

Sample project >

Image sources:
Image 2: © KUKA Roboter GmbH
Image 3: © SIG Combibloc Systems GmbH
Image 4: © IFA GmbH
Image 5: © Institute of Aerodynamics and Gas Dynamics - University of Stuttgart
Image 6: © Institute of Mechanics and Photoelasticity - Technical University of Munich

Projektbeispiele

Optische Messverfahren in der Qualitätskontrolle

Zur Qualitätssicherung werden Bauteile vor ihrer Weiterverwendung geprüft. Die erhaltenen Messwerte müssen interpretiert und mit den vorgegebenen Soll-Werten verglichen werden.

Zum Projektbeispiel >

Bewegungsabläufe optimieren

Industrieroboter sind mit einer komplexen Software ausgestattet, die für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen geeignet ist. Dennoch gibt es immer wieder besonders knifflige Fälle, in denen eigene Berechnungen nötig sind, um den Roboter nach speziellen Vorgaben zu steuern.

Zum Projektbeispiel >

Berechnung eines Zackenrads

Es gibt immer wieder Fälle, in denen Bauteile eine optimale Form haben sollen, beispielsweise um Beschleunigungen minimal zu halten oder Bewegungsabläufe zu vereinfachen.

Zum Projektbeispiel >

Erweiterung der Pharmazentralnummer für Arzneimittel

Zur eindeutigen Kennzeichnung wird in Deutschland für jedes Arzneimittel von der IFA GmbH die Pharmazentralnummer (PZN) vergeben. Vor 2013 war die PZN 7-stellig, wobei die 7. Stelle eine Prüfziffer war. Damit konnten Falscheingaben vermieden werden. Mit der 7-stelligen PZN sind nur 909.090 PZN möglich, daher war die Anzahl der 7-stelligen PZN annähernd ausgeschöpft und die PZN musste auf mehr Stellen erweitert werden.

Zum Projektbeispiel >

Strömungen von Gasen und Flüssigkeiten

Aufgabenstellungen oder Probleme der Strömungsmechanik kann man numerisch oder analytisch behandeln. Eine CFD-Standardsoftware rechnet numerisch. Sucht man jedoch beispielsweise ein spezielles Strömungs-Optimum oder möchte man die volle Kontrolle über die Berechnungen haben, müssen auf das jeweilige Problem exakt zugeschnittene analytische Berechnungen angestellt werden.

Zum Projektbeispiel >

Bildquellen:
Bild 2: © KUKA Roboter GmbH
Bild 3: © SIG Combibloc Systems GmbH
Bild 4: © IFA GmbH
Bild 5: © Institut für Aerodynamik und Gasdynamik - Universität Stuttgart